Skip navigation

Since I started biking I’ve went back and forth with carrying different things with me on the trail and on the road. I’ve used a Camelbak pack which had extra pockets for pumps, tubes, tire levers, and other things. Camelbaks are great but I don’t always want a back pack on. So I started looking for what would work just as an essentials pack for mountain and road rides that wasn’t too expensive. I’m by no means a weight weenie but I didn’t want anything that was bulky or heavy. This is what I found, Rav X Power Pack Combo Kit. For what you get with this kit I couldn’t find a better deal.

It’s not too heavy and you can fit an extra tube in it too. Here is a shot of it on my Ventura and a shot of what I keep in it. The Cateye tail light is also pictured, which I only use on my road bike. It clips right on the back of the pack and is a great safety feature when on any road. I don’t know about where you live but people can drive like idiots here and anything I can do to make them see me better is a plus. Here is a link to the Cateye, Cateye LD130 3Led Taillight. You can find similar lights on Pricepoint or JensonUSA like this one but for a few extra bucks you can get the Cateye, which has a great reputation for making quality products.

I only keep two of the three tire levers in it because I’ve never really had a need for a third while I’m changing a tire. This little seat pack can be swapped out between your road or mountain bike. All you have to do is swap the tubes you have in it for whichever bike you’re using. Then just grab your water bottle and you’re all set.

One Comment

  1. been using a saddle pack since starting, for half day/short rides they’re the bomb.


Leave a Reply

